Rethinking Labels!

We have come to a point where wasting resources is no longer an option. Sustainability has been adopted as a central aspect of all long-term business processes. As a convinced "climate partner", System Print has sustainably optimized fundamental production steps and selected the most possible resource-saving energy sources in order to ensure a climate-neutral production. To go further steps, we are thrilled to help our customers designing label and packaging solutions, which conserve our environment. Without a doubt, a sustainable product design begins with the packaging. And labels are an integral part of this sustainable packaging design. Our goal of sustainable labels must be to reduce the environmental impact of their production, while maximizing their life cycle. Let us guide you to sustainable labeling.

Sustainability has many faces and we pursue all possible approaches:

Recycling

Recycling enables to close the loop and to reprocess unavoidably required resources and create a new product from them - for example new label material. As a result, the life cycle of a label can be extended tremendously. We show our customers a wide variety of paper and film materials with a recycled content of up to 100 percent. We have happily and successfully supported many customers during a seamless switch to our RecyclingCoat or RecyclingPP. Furthermore, we recently started introducing thermal labels made from 100 percent recycled fibres – the latest addition to our sustainability portfolio. The world is rethinking and so are we.

Reducing

Another approach to save valuable resources is to reduce the material input. Basically, a downsizing of the packaging. The megatrend towards ever thinner and more resource-efficient packaging has long been adopted within many brands´ sustainability targets. Sometimes less is more!
Rethinking
Sometimes, existing solutions simply have to be rethought. Rethinking labels can also help to achieve the sustainability goal of your brand. For example, wash-off adhesives enable to recover the granules from disposable PET bottles and other PET packaging. This innovative adhesive detaches cleanly during the recycling-process so that the PET flakes can be recovered without any pollution of the label that used to be a major problem in the recycling process earlier.
It is also an option to make the switch to alternative, more sustainable materials. Thanks to its ecological appeal, grass paper, which can be harvested multiple times a year, is a true success story and represents a compostable and recyclable alternative to conventional paper labels made from fresh fibres. Just like grass paper labels or compostable PE filmic labels, there are countless innovative materials that make a real difference. We'd love to help you make the difference!

Recycling waste smartly!

There is no doubt, our society has a waste problem. The linear use of valuable resources is driving climate change inexorably. Our label industry must also face this problem consequently. Sustainable solutions must be implemented, which extend the lifecycle of labels and integrate the unavoidable waste into a circular economy. When labelling products, immense amounts of label release liner material are left behind. So far, these materials have structurally been neglected within waste stream processes as technology lacked to de-siliconize the paper release liner and recycle the pulp effectively. Thanks to innovative liner recycling programs, the loop can now be closed and those valuable resource can be integrated into circularity to create new label materials. The liner material is collected at customer sites and can be reprocessed to recycle up to 75 percent of the waste. Additionally, we started to collect the release liner, which is a considerably extensive waste product of our label production, and added it to the liner recycling program as well. It is a simple equation: for every ton of label liner that we collect and recycle together with our customers, 13 trees remain in our forests. And it's that simple: We collect waste, conserve resources, improve our company's carbon footprint and save money at the same time.

One simple step to make the difference!

Certification RafCyle


Tell us about
your project!

You need special labels or have another challenging request?
We are pleased to help out!

Etiketten neu denken!

Wir sind an einem Punkt angekommen, an dem die Verschwendung von Ressourcen keine Option mehr darstellt. Längst bildet Nachhaltigkeit einen zentralen Aspekt aller langfristigen Geschäftsprozesse. System Print hat grundlegende Produktionsschritte optimiert und Energiequellen möglichst ressourcenschonend ausgewählt, um eine klimaneutrale Produktion zu gewährleisten. Um einen Schritt weiterzugehen helfen wir auch unseren Kunden dabei, Etiketten- und Verpackungslösungen zu designen, die unsere Umwelt schonen. Der Grundstein eines nachhaltigen Produktes wird mit der Verpackung gelegt. Denn Etiketten sind ein integraler Bestandteil eines nachhaltigen Verpackungsdesigns und müssen ein zentraler Aspekt des Umdenkens sein. Unser Ziel eines nachhaltigen Etiketts ist es, die Umweltbelastung zu reduzieren und den Lebenszyklus zu maximieren. Lassen Sie sich von uns zu einer nachhaltigen Kennzeichnung führen.

Nachhaltigkeit hat viele Gesichter und wir verfolgen alle möglichen Ansätze:

Recycling

Recycling ermöglicht es, den Kreislauf zu schließen und unvermeidbar benötigte Ressourcen wiederaufzubereiten und ein neues Produkt daraus zu erschaffen – zum Beispiel neues Etikettenmaterial. Dadurch kann der Lebenszyklus eines Etiketts um ein Vielfaches verlängert werden. Wir bieten unseren Kunden verschiedenste Papier- und Folienverbunde mit einem Recyclinganteil von bis zu 100 Prozent. Mit Freude haben wir bereits bei vielen Kunden die nahtlose Umstellung auf unseren RecyclingCoat oder RecyclingPP betreut. Seit Neustem bieten wir zusätzlich Thermo-Etiketten aus 100 Prozent recycelten Fasern an. Die Welt denkt um und wir tun das auch.

Reducing

Eine weitere Möglichkeit wichtige Ressourcen zu sparen, ist die Reduzierung des Materialaufwandes. Damit ist ein Downsizing der Verpackung gemeint. Der Trend zu immer dünneren und ressourcenschonenderen Verpackungen hat sich bei viele Marken längst durchgesetzt. Es werden immer kleinere und dünnere Papier- und Folienetiketten gefordert, die gleichzeitig nichts an Prozesssicherheit bei der Etikettenapplikation einbüßen. Weniger ist eben manchmal doch mehr!
Rethinking
Manchmal müssen Lösungen einfach neu gedacht werden. Zum Beispiel ermöglichen unsere Wash-Off Klebstoffe die Rückgewinnung des Granulats von Einweg PET-Flaschen und Verpackungen, ohne die bisher im Recyclingprozess störenden Rückstände des Etiketts. Dieser innovative Klebstoff löst sich während des Abwaschvorgangs rückstandsfrei, sodass die PET-Flocken unverschmutzt wiederaufbereitet werden können.
Zudem kann auch auf alternative, nachhaltigere Materialien umgestellt werden. Das Graspapier-Etikett zum Beispiel ist von Erfolg gekrönt und stellt eine mehrmals im Jahr nachwachsende Alternative zum herkömmlichen Etikett aus Frischfasern dar. Genau wie das Graspapier, das Steinpapier oder die kompostierbare PE-Folie, gibt es unzählige innovative Materialien, die einen echten Unterschied machen.

Recycling einfach wie nie!

Eines ist sicher: Unsere Gesellschaft hat ein Abfallproblem. Die lineare Nutzung von wertvollen Ressourcen treibt den Klimawandel unaufhaltsam an. Auch unsere Industrie muss sich diesem Problem stellen. Es müssen Lösungen gefunden werden, um den Lebenszyklus von Etiketten zu verlängern und die benötigten Ressourcen in eine Kreislaufwirtschaft zu integrieren. Bei der Etikettierung von Produkten bleiben Unmengen von Trägerpapier zurück, die im Abfallmanagement bisher strukturell vernachlässigt wurden. Etikettenträgermaterial ist ein sehr hochwertiges Papier. Bisher fehlte es an Knowhow, um die hochwertigen Papierfasern vom Silikon zu trennen und angemessen zu recyceln – bisher. Wir haben uns dazu entschlossen, uns einem innovativen Trägermaterial-Recycling-Programm anzuschließen, welches die Einspeisung von Trägermaterial in eine Kreislaufwirtschaft ermöglicht. Dabei wird das Trägermaterial unserer Kunden gesammelt, wiederaufbereitet und zu neuem Trägermaterial verarbeitet. Bis zu 75 Prozent des entstehenden Abfalls kann dadurch recycelt werden. Auch das Trägermaterial, welches in unserer Etikettenproduktion als Abfall anfällt, wird dem Produktionskreislauf zugeführt und kann neu verwertet werden. Für jede Tonne Trägermaterial, die wir recyceln, bleiben 13 Bäume unseren Wäldern erhalten. Und so einfach geht es: Wir sammeln Abfall, schonen Ressourcen, verbessern die Klimabilanz unseres Unternehmens und sparen gleichzeitig noch Geld.

Ein einfacher Schritt, um den Unterschied zu machen!

Certification RafCyle


Erzählen Sie uns von
Ihrem Projekt!

Sie benötigen spezielle Etiketten oder haben ein anderes Anliegen?
Wir freuen uns über Ihre Anfrage!